Uncategorized

  • I received this in my e-mail the other day and it hit me like a rock after I read it.  I just thought I'd share it with you all.


    “God has stopped listening to her prayers.” I was explaining what a distressed church member had said. “Well, God certainly will not listen to someone who continues to live in sin.

    You tell her to deal with unconfessed sin first.” The adamant tone of my friend surprised me. Does unconfessed sin really hinder our prayer? If so, how then can I be certain that God hears my prayer? The Psalmist, who struggle with this “frightful” thought, comforts us:

    I cried out to him with my mouth; his praise was on my tongue. If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened; but God has surely listened and heard my voice in prayer. Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me! Psalms 66:17-20 (NIV)

    Indeed, God has repeatedly ignored the pleading of His people because they were deeply in sin. God withheld His mercy and pity because they have angered Him with detestable acts of idol worship and violence. Yet, it is perfectly clear that God welcomes and accepts my repentance, and He is always pleased to hear those who seek after Him.

    Is my sin a reason my prayers go unanswered? Do I have the confidence that God is always pleased to hear my confession of sin and He always gives me what He deems best in His loving plan?

  • Happy Mother's day!

    The Tani family will be going to dinner next week since everyone will be out today.    My mom is all about not waiting two hours to eat.   Cool huh?  Before I go into my Mother's day entry, let me break out a weekend recap. 

    Friday

    Esther decided to stay home so she could make eggrolls for today's barbeque.    I met up with Jen around 6:40 and did some cardio and weightlifting.   One of my personal gym goals for this year is to be able to rep my weight on the bench press.  If Jen continues to spot me like she did last night, I'm sure I can get my bench up.  There's something about having a spotter that psychologically helps you. 

    Afterward, we picked up some food at the mall and went seperate ways.  I met up with Wayne and Jen around nine at Munchicup.   Dave showed up later on, and Charles came by around 11.  We chilled outside after Munchicup for about hour before I decided to go home.

    Saturday

    Esther and I showed up around eight and she made eggrolls.  Wayne cooked his famous fried rice, and made some kalbi as well.  Jen brought her artichoke dip, Shane brought the KFC and Dave brought the burgers.  Quite a diverse selection huh?  The food was good.   After dinner, we watched "the Goonies".   It wouldn't work toward the end of the movie so we played a few games on the PS2.  

    I dropped Esther off around one and came back.    We played some Texas Holdem with pennies.    Shane was the ultimate winner.    We left pretty late, much later than I intended.   I was thinking I would leave around 2:30 or 3ish, but I ended up leaving around 4:30.  Before I left, Wayne burned me a copy of his World Series of Poker for pc.   It's actually pretty fun and can get quite addicting.   I wish I had money like that to play with.  I'd much rather hold on to it though and buy stuff like food. 

  • Saturday

    All I have to say is FU-NNY! After a game of spades, everyone relocated to Starbucks and we had a couple of armwrestling sessions going on.  It was quite entertaining if you were a bystander.    Man oh  man, my ego was popped big time too.   I thought that I might be able to give Wayne a little competition.   There was no way I could beat him but maybe put up a little struggle, you know?   Nope.   I was owned.   I also armwrestled Dave and Jen (not at the same time).   Jen had been talking about the strength of her left arm so I gave it a try.   I must admit, her left is much stronger than her right.   It's kind of weird because usually your right is stronger if you're righthanded.    Dave put up some good competition too.    Wayne took on Shane too.   Shane won with his right but Wayne won with his left.   Apparently his left is stronger.   I couldn't tell.  I got beat equally as fast on both sides.   

    Sunday

    Sunday was awesome.   Well, church was awesome.   The day was just okay.   Despite the heat and traffic, I'm certainly glad I was at church.    I think what really struck home was when Pastor Dave spoke about spiritual blindness.   I really think that's something I've been struggling with for a while now.    Pastor Dave also said that God is with us 24/7, and not just at church.   That seems like common sense right?   Sometimes, I forget that though through the hustle and bustle of everyday life.  Ironically, I don't really have much to distract my attention but I guess I feel frustration at where I am.   Relationship wise, I couldn't be happier but it's my job situation.   Once again though, going back to Pastor Dave, it's not about conforming to the world's status quo but to God's.     All I really wanted in life was to able to supoort and raise a family, and not necessarily aim for wealth.  Don't get me wrong though, because that would be nice but that isn't my target.    

    Sorry, I sort of lost track of my topic but let it suffice to say that church was awesome.   After church, I hit the gym and did some chest and bicep work.    Since all the guys were tired (they went to Pechanga the night before), I ended up shooting some hoops after my workout.   Around 8ish, I went to the Evans and played some Halo.  I still suck and still like CS better.    Once that was done, I watched the guys play some poker and took off around midnight.    

  • Saturday

    Esther and I met up with Shane, Wayne and Jen at this korean tofu place by Gable house.   I had boogolgi (sp?) and Esther ordered kimchi tofu soup.   We shared the two orders.    After dinner, we headed over to Lollicup to play some spades.  Before that, we stopped at Baskin Robbins (which is like two stores down) and bought some ice cream.  Mid-way through spades, Kato wasn't feeling so good.   We all left around 11ish.  Hopefully Kato is better now.

    Sunday

    I balled with the homies for a few hours.   Later on, Mike and I met up with Dave at the AMC theaters in Norwalk to watch "Kill Bill 2".    If Kill Bill was nothing but action and gore, the second was pretty much explaining why the action and gore happened.   I mean, there was obviously some killing involved but it was mainly exposition.   If you're wondering, exposition is when the actors do a lot of informative explaining.     In any case, it was still a pretty good movie and it makes you understand the first more.   I guess you should see the first before you see the second after all.   Saturday, I told Jen and Wayne they really wouldn't need to see it since the first was just killing.   I was wrong. 

  • Here we go again with another weekend wrap up.

    Thursday

    I met up with Jen, Heidi and Wayne at Islands.   Normally, I don't go out on Thursdays but it was to celebrate Jen's acceptance into graduate school.   We chilled at Islands for a bit, and went to Munchicup later on.

    Friday

    This was the first time in a long time that I actually went to the gym on a Friday.   It was pretty nice since most people don't really work out on Friday nights.   I was able to do all my exercises and get most of the weights I needed (I couldn't find the 30 lb dumbbells though).  I was supposed to meet up with Jen and Wayne at Muchicup but there was a miscommunication and I ended up going home since I was tired.    


    Go Mary

    Congratulations to all the hmong ladies at Redding college who are graduating today.  I would like to give a huge congrats to Mary Vang.   I've known Mary since '98 and have yet to meet her.    When I first got AOL, she was one of the first people I chatted with.    It's so trippy because when I met her, she was only a junior in high school and now she's going to be a college graduate.   It's so awesome to see how much God has influenced her life and how much she's changed since '98.  I'm not even going to try to boost her ego but I'm quite proud of her.  

  • Hello friends and xangians.   I am back from Vegas.  It was pretty fun.    Before I get into my Vegas review, here's a quick recap on Thursday.  

    Thursday

    Esther and I met up with Jen, Wayne, Mimi, Dave, Shane, Heidi and Charles at El Torito. The reason we all met up here was to celebrate Jen and Shane's birthday.   Esther and I didn't eat though because we were tired.  

    Later on, Esther and I picked up some food at In and Out and drove over to munchicup to meet up with everyone.   We all played some pai-gow, blackjack and texas holdem to get us ready for Vegas.  It was fun.

    Now it's time for the Vegas recap.

    Friday

    Esther and I picked up the rental car since my mom preferred we use one rather than her car.   We bought lunch at Guillianos (sp?) and off we went.    Initially, we were going to take turns driving but I drove the whole thing, and made just a few stops to pee.   We arrived at the Rio around 5:30 and checked in.  Once we settled in, we went to this outlet near downtown so we could meet up with everyone else.   I called Jen around 8 and checked to see where they were.  It turned out they were at the same outlet and we met up.    After we all met up, it was time to head over to the Golden Nugget so everyone else can check in.     We found a place to eat around 10ish at this one hotel ( I forgot the name).   The prime rib was not that great but the chowder made up for it.     After dinner, it was time to gamble.    We hit up various hotels in downtown and played a lot of pai-gow.   It was pretty fun.   Heidi and Mimi went up early while Dave, Jen, Wayne, Esther and I stayed.   Esther and I finally went back to the hotel around 4ish and knocked out.

    Saturday 

    We woke up at 1 and met up with everyone at Union Plaza.    The plan was to play bingo at three.   That game is crazy and it's so stressful because just when you think you're going to win, someone else does.    I know you're thinking that it's just bingo and it's not a big deal.   You don't even know.  They call the numbers out so fast, it's hard to keep up.  After bingo, we played a few slots and headed back to our respective hotels.   Jen, Wayne, Mimi, Heidi and Dave came over to meet up with Esther and I at the Rio around 6:30 to eat at the international buffet.   Once dinner was over,  everyone played a few slots.   Wayne won $360 on this one slot machine.  Lucky hater hahaha.   He won like $160 earlier in the day.  After that, we relocated to the Palms hotel.   We were there for about a hour and then it was time to go back to downtown for more pai-gow.   I don't know how long everyone stayed but Esther and I left around 2:30.  

    Sunday 

    We woke up around 11:20 and checked out.   We headed over to the Hilton to check out the Borg invasion 4-D thing.    It wasn't worth the price of admission but it was definitely an experience.    After that, we headed out to Primm to check out the outlets and play some pai-gow.  Esther came up at the tables here.   We left at 5 and Esther drove until Lenwood.  I took over and we stopped at J.Rs for dinner.    After we ate, Esther drove to her place and I drove the car home.   


    Happy belated birthday wishes to Jen (who I saw this weekend) and Mary. 

    I lost about $200 this time.  This just wasn't my weekend but I had fun.  You can't put a price on spending a great weekend with your friends and your girlfriend.

  • Friday 

    It's been a while since Esther and I haven't played Spades with Jen and Wayne on Friday.   Jen had to stay with her mom so Esther and I just chilled, watching comedy central.   There was like two straight hours of comedians.    Some of them were pretty good but a couple sucked.   There's this one guy that seemed to have some intrinsic ability of celebrity immitations.   He did a good a-nold, George Bush, Chris Farley, John Madden and Robin Williams.

    Saturday

    Esther and I met up with everyone at Hurry Curry for some serious grubbage.   I think there must've been something going on because some family and friends took over the entire place.   Anyways, dinner was good and we headed over to Muse for some Spades and Pai-gow.  I dropped Esther off and headed back to meet up.   Oh man, the crazy chats we had.   They were pretty funny and it's one of those "you had to be there" kind of things.   Keep in mind that it was 2 in the morning (3 with the time adjustment).    Afterwards, we all went home.

    Sunday

    Man oh man.    Pushing one hour ahead really killed me today.  I don't know but I felt so disoriented and fatigued all day.  Ironically, I got plenty of uninterrupted sleep.    I slept way more than I should've and missed church.    I ended up going to the gym for a bit and then I got a car wash.   My car was in dire need of one too since it's been over a month since I got one.   Dirt and birdcrap decorated it oh so nicely.    We balled around 4ish and ended up playing until almost 9.   

    I wish I was like 5'9 or 5'10.   Height wouldn't be my answer to my basketball struggles but it sure would help a little.   I'm always the smallest guy on the court and it sucks for a couple reasons.  One, I'm not lightning fast like most small guys are.  Two, I can't compensate for my height with jumping ability.   I think I should try and lose some excess baggage and hope my legs can do the rest. 

    After balling, I went home to eat and headed over to the Evan's to play some Halo.  I thought playing CS the last couple of months would help but apparently not.   I'm just not used to the controller and the guys have been playing for a while.  On the plus side, I'm sure I brought up everyone's kill count.   Turn a negative into a positive.  lol.


    "He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose." - Jim Elliot

    I found this quote on X's xanga.   Here is my interpretation.  From a Christian perspective, it might  imply that it is much better to give up world things and remain in God's love than to love worldly things and fall from God.   Once you die, you can't keep what you have.  However, once you gain the love of God and his son Jesus Christ, you can't lose that.   Just my two cents on that.

  • Man oh man!  Sunday/Monday sucked big time.   It sucked like jumping on a seat with the seat missing.  It sucked like lemon juice on a paper cut.  It sucked like...there are no words to describe.     But first, another weekend wrap up.  

    Friday

    I met up with Wayne and Jen at T.E.  We played Spades (which I was the ultimate loser) and gin (which I was the ultimate winner).   That place I spoke about earlier called me as well.  I have an interview on Monday at 2.  

    Saturday

    Esther and I met up with Wayne and Jen to eat at Black Angus.  Dang, they give you huge portions.   The price was reasonable too.   After dinner, Esther and I went to my house to wait for Dave.  Once he showed up, we went to the Cheesecake Factory for Tony's b-day.   There was a lot of people there.   I didn't know about half the faces there though.  I did recognize John, James, his girlfriend, Paul, Diane(paul's girlfriend), Tony, Linh, Dave (another one) and Mike.   Esther and I left around 10:30 and Dave opted to stay.   We met up with Wayne and Jen again at Gardena Bowl to just chill.  Shane was there too and Charles came by later.   I felt so tired for some reason. 

    It's weird because the last couple Saturday's, I haven't been sleeping all that well.  During the week, I'm okay but once Saturday comes, it gets all weird.   I think working on Saturday's in the morning are taking it's toll. 

    Sunday

    The day started out bad.   We only balled one game because Jack told us about playing at the gym at Rowley park.  Turns out that there were some people there and we had to relocate to Municipal gym by Perry middle school.   By the time we figured out what was going on, Jack said to just go back to Grant park.  We ended up going home since we didn't want to drive.  I went to my homie's place around midnight to chill at Starbucks.    I partially (maybe 40%) in someone's driveway.   Now, I only did this because the light's were out and it was late.   Anyways, when I got back, my car was gone.   I was frantic.  I came home and called the police department (props to Chris M for the idea) to see if any cars had been impounded.   They could only pull it up by the license plate number.  

    Monday

    I asked my dad for it in the morning and found it was indeed locked up.   My pop picked me up and we drove to the police department to get the release.   Then we drove to the impound lot and got it released.  I found a ticket on my windshield which I had to pay off.

    So, let's add it up:

    1. Police Release=$72
    2. Impound Release=$85
    3. Ticket=$70

    Yeah, that equates to a very expensive lesson.  NEVER ASSUME ANYTHING.    Anyways, after I got my car, I had to get ready for my interview.  What a waste of time!   The position is crappy and I easily misconstrued what was said over the phone.  

    The lady on the phone made it sound so great but it was just a farce.   The job pays crap, there are no benefits and they offer Sarsap rather than 401 k.  Let me explain sarsap.  With Sarsap, you set aside your own money before they tax.  So if you make 30 grand, and you set aside 5 grand, you're only taxed for 25 grand.  Sucks either way you look at it. 

    So yeah, my day sucked but at least it's over.  It could've been a lot worse, praise God. 

    If you ever get your car towed and you live in Torrance, the impound is by Crenshaw and Lomita.  Take Lomita west toward Hawthorne and it's on your right side.  It's called Van something.  I forgot.  The number to the police department is 310-320-2611.    This maybe irrelevant now but it might come in handy to someone later.  Just sharing the wealth, if you can call it that.  

  • Friday

    We had our usual round of spades last night.  Dave came by and we all relocated to T.G.I.F.  That pretty much sucked so we then headed to Hustler casino.   We didn't gamble and ended up chilling by the bar area.   It's pretty nice.

    Saturday

    This day turned out to be pretty good.  It all started out crappy though.   

    1. I didn't sleep well                                                              
    2. work sucked                                                                    
    3. some customer at work straight up called me stupid, twice!

    On the way to Esther's, I hit traffic.   For those of you who are 110 savvy,  it took me 40 minutes to get from the 105 to Manchester.   Yeah, it was that bad.  

    Anyways, once I got to Esther's,  she drove us (since I had so much road rage built up) to the Crocodile cafe in South Pasadena.   We met up with everyone there for dinner.   Dave got this dessert that was..um, indescribable.   It had this interesting texture and taste.  It looked and smelled like a brownie ala mode.  

    After dinner, we headed out to the Ice House for a night of comedy.   The headliner was funny.   He's a writer for "the George Lopez" show.   There was this other guy that had something to Spongebob squarepants.  I forgot what though.   He was pretty funny too.    Actually, all the comedians were funny.   

    The one thing I liked was that no one had to resort to using snaps on the audience.  I really think that it weakens a comedian's performance when they do that.   

    Sunday

    I went to the Staples Center for the first time yesterday.  I met up with Dave and we made our way to our seats.   Mike called and informed us about getting to sit in the box area.    At halftime, we met up with Mike and he got us in.   A lot of the homies and homiettes were in there.   It was a pretty fun experience.   I must say that the Staples Center is nice.    I was able to take a few pictures but once we got to the box seats, I pretty much forgot.  The whole experience was quite riveting.   Much like the Linkin Park concert, these aren't great pictures but I did try my best. 

    After that, I met up with guys to play some ball.    We balled for about four hours and played almost nothing but five on five games.  It was pretty cool.  

  • Friday

    Twas another night of spades.    It was Wayne and I versus Jen and Esther.   We lost two of the three games played but it's all good. 

    Saturday

    Esther and I went to the block to meet up with everyone.   We ate dinner first at that Alcatraz brewery place.   The food was good.   Afterward, we met up with everyone at Lovesack.  It's that one place with all huge bean bag.   I'm thinking of getting one using some of my tax refund.   We checked out the bowling place but it was packed so we went to D and B's instead.   Jen and I played one round of basketball (which I won).   For the record, Jen whooped me the last time we were there so the victory felt great.  hahhaha.    Dave, Wayne, Jen and I played this one racing game where it's all linked together.  The seats vibrate and move too.  Crazy I tell you, crazy.  We chilled at D and B's for a couple hours and went to this one place in Westminster for pho.  

    Sunday

    Sunday was a good day.   It started out with going to Benihana for lunch with my grandma and parents.   I ordered the hibachi shrimp.   Our server looked like a girl I recognized from North.   She graduated a year before me.   Her name tag matched the name I was thinking of too.  Of course I didn't say anything though, especially since I never met her in my life.   She was just a face I saw a few times at school.  

    The chef that prepared our food did this awesome volcano routine.  It wasn't the typical "smoke coming from the onion volcano" either.   He made lava (water) come gushing out like a real eruption.  He just held his utensil down near the volano and added water, causing it to precipitate and made for a nice lava effect.   While the chef was doing his routine, I felt a tap on my shoulder.  I looked over and it was Joey.   The last time I saw her was on my 24th birthday at Benihana.   Don't ask me why her name is Joey.   It just is.    My parents recognized her too.    Anyways, it was really good seeing her and sounds like she's doing good for herself.  I met Joey when I worked at 99 Ranch.  

    After lunch, I hit the gym for a bit.   This one guy, who couldn't weigh more than 140 or so, put up 235 on the bench press.   If you can bench 150% of your body weight, that's considered strong so imagine how strong this guy is.  I was pretty impressed.   After the gym, I balled with the homies for about four hours.   I'm sure Mike will xanga about this but he freaking had LeBron James on his team.  Okay, it wasn't LeBron but damn if he didn't play like him.   Good court vision, pull up J's, and crazy moves to the hole made this guy unstoppable.   I lost every 5 on 5 game I played but I had fun.  I heard Mike's chant of "meals on wheels" everytime I touched the ball.  What a hater! hahahah. 

    We all split around 9 and I came home to watch Wrestlemania XX.   It was TIGHT!   The matches were exciting and I enjoyed every bit of it.   My favorite match had to be a tie between the triple threat, and the cruiserweight match.  

  • I'm back, and here's the rundown on my weekend:

    Friday

     Esther and I met up with Jen, Wayne, Heidi, Dave, Mike and Shane at the Loft.    Mucho thanks to Heidi and Jen for bringing the cake.    After dinner, Mike took off and the rest us headed over to Hustler casino.   Jen was the only one that played but it was still cool hanging out. 

    Saturday 

    Esther and I left for San Diego around 2, and got there a little before 4.   The hotel we stayed at was in downtown.  The location was pretty cool since we could walk everywhere.  The room however was not so great.  It was tiny.  Maybe the size of my room.     It was enough for Esther to cancel the next night and book a room somewhere else.   Anyways,  we walked around downtown and ate at the Spaghetti Factory.   It was good.   We headed back to the hotel room and watched parts of Rush Hour and Rush Hour 2. 

    We headed back out and stopped by for ice cream.   Originally, we intended on going to one of the casinos but decided to just stay put since we had a great parking spot.    It was great because it was free and it was right next to the hotel.   If I moved and couldn't find a spot on the street, I may have had to pay $15.    It's amazing how lively downtown is on Saturday.  I'd say it's a combination of third street in Santa Monica, Hollywood and Westwood.   It had clubs, bars, stores,  theaters, and a mall.   We called it a night around 1 but I didn't fall asleep until after 3 since I could still hear everyone still partying down below. 

    Sunday

    We checked out of the hotel and went to the zoo.   I have pictures for that as well.  We took a tour of the zoo on a double-decker bus.  That was pretty cool.    We walked around and viewed the animals for the rest of the day.  We even rode in one of those sky highs.  Those are old school.  You know, it's those carts that go from one side to the other on a wire, high up in the air.   After the zoo, we checked into our hotel.   It was like 10000000000000000 times better.     After relaxing, we decided to check out this one casino called Barona's.   I'm sure you seen the ad, it's the one with Kenny Rogers on it.   The buffet there was pretty nice.  It was an international one with foods ranging from Chinese, Mangolian, Mexican, Italian and American.   After dinner, we gambled for a bit.   I lost about $35.   Blah.   We left around 10 and returned to the hotel.

    Monday 

    We checked out and headed back to Torrance.  We got back around 2 and ate lunch.   I had a job interview at 4.   After the interview, Esther and I ate dinner and watched television. 

  • Yesterday, our family said good-bye.   Good-bye to Jiro Hara.  He was 91 years young.   Some called him friend, uncle, father, and husband.  To me, he was grandpa.   

    Like I was saying, his funeral was yesterday.  My brother and I met up with the family at 1 pm.   We were both pallbearers.   We waited in this room and it was a big family reunion.   I saw people I haven't seen in a long time.   I was really shocked to see my uncle Ron and Jared there. 

    Jared is the grandson of my grandma.   I know what you're thinking but when I say grandma, she is actually my childhood babysitter.   I call her grandma because she treated me like a grandson.  She raised my brother and I when we were young.   So yes, I have three grandmothers.  I don't care what anyone else says.   Getting back to Jared, he was my best friend for the longest time.   He's still someone I look to as a great friend, almost like a brother.   I've known him since he was born.   Brothers may part ways but they will reunite one day.    

    Getting back to the funeral, we (the pallbearers) pulled out the coffin and carried it to this cart.   The funeral began as the cart was rolled to the front.   My brother and I were both chosen to write a rememberance piece for my grandpa.   

    Out of respect for my grandpa, I incorporated some buddhism.   For those who don't know, I used to be buddhist but came to know God in 1997.  However, my grandparents never knew and my mom felt it was best to never tell them.  I don't believe in buddhism though but if there is indeed a pure land, I hope my grandpa is there now.

    Anyways, after the eulogy, I sighed a big relief that it was over and yet hoped that I did my grandpa some justice.  As I sat there and listend to his history, I was moved by the life he lived.  He went through a great ordeal and yet still managed to keep that smile that he was known for.  

    Once the service was over, everyone went to the cemetary (Inglewood and 182nd for all you 310 people, right behing the galleria).   Everyone presented a flower on my grandpa's coffin until there was only the family.  That consisted of my dad, mom, grandma, auntie (grandma's sister), Derek and myself.   It was time for us to say good-bye.  Now up until this point, I was sad but not to the point of crying.   I don't remember much but the next thing I knew, tears poured down my face.   It was one of those silent cries.    It was heartbraking for me to see my grandma cry.  In my life, I don't think I ever saw her cry.   I think even my dad cried a little.  My dad never cries.   I tried to remain strong.  Then I realized, what am I remaining strong for?  The waterworks came on after that.  

    I've never had this kind of loss before.  I was one of the fortunate few who had both sets of grandparents.  In a way, I took that for granted.   So as you could imagine, this wasn't something I took very lightly. 

    Afterward, it was time to eat dinner.  We went to this chinese seafood place on Redondo (in pacific square).   It was really good seeing everyone there.   It made me happy to know that so many people cared for my grandpa.   I ran into a woman there who recognized me.  She told me she was the mother of Noel, a girl (well a woman now..she's 24) who also went to the same babysitter as I.   It would've been nice to see Noel though since it's been a long time.    People gave my brother and I compliments for our rememberances but I knew it was straight from the heart.    It was nothing I researched or studied up on, it was just 100% real.   My other grandma told me my three cousins actually cried during my rememberance.   I was shocked.  I just hoped that everyone that heard what I had to say went away knowing how great my grandpa was. 

    I decided to cut and paste my rememberance in my comment box so that everyone can read it.  I hope through this, you can get an idea of what kind of man he was.    


    I'd just like to congratulate a couple of cousins, even though I doubt they know I have this:  

    • Lauryn:  Congratulations for being engaged. 
    • Colin:  He is the proud father (for two months now) of a healthy looking baby boy.  Bryce Takehide Nakaba.  
  • Sunday

    My day started out by going to church.  Afterwards, I balled with the homies for almost four hours.   Once we were done, I suggested we catch a movie.   No one was down but Mike said to give him a call later on.  I went home, ate, showered and played a little CS (not in that order).  I called Mike and he was down to go catch a movie.   We ended up going to Rolling Hills AMC and watched The Passion of the Christ .   

    For those who have been under a rock the last month, this movie is about the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life.    It also has flashbacks throughout the movie.   If a picture is worth a thousand words, just imagine what a movie can tell you.   To see what Jesus endured and all the punishment, torment and ridicule he had to endure was just too much for anyone.   This movie is quite graphic but I recommend it for everyone to go watch it. 

    Monday

    Our family went down to downtown L.A to view my grandfather's body.  Afterward, my bro and I drove back to pick up our suits from Mens' Warehouse.   My dad and I went to Comp USA afterward.   Esther called around 7ish and I picked her up.  We headed to the Galleria to watch Barbershop 2. 

    After we bought our tickets, we went to the food court.  We ran into Anne and Thong.  It was good seeing them, especially since I haven't seen them in a while.   Our movie started at 8:30.  I personally liked it.   It's one of those movies that has a message and yet is filled with comedy all the way through.  My kind of movie.


    Today, we say good bye.

  • Friday  

    After work, my dad and I went to the men's wearhouse to get me a suit for Tuesday.   Esther came by later on and we went to TE for yet another night of spades with Jen and Wayne.  Charles came by later on.   For some reason, everyone wanted to go to Hustler's casino so we ended up going.  Jen and Charles played some pai-gow while Esther, Wayne and I looked on.   Esther and I left early since I had work the next morning.

    Saturday 

    Esther and I met up with Jen and Wayne at Pat & Oscars for some grub.  It was quite busy, so busy that Jen and Wayne's order seemed to have been overlooked.   After 30 minutes, Wayne went up to see what was going on and came back with a $20 dollar coupon to P & O.  Not too shabby. 

    After dinner, we all headed over to G-bowl for their Cozmik bowling.    I ran into Ryan and Geraldine right when we got there.   They went to the drift show earlier on in the day.  It was good seeing them, especially Geraldine.  I haven't seen her in a long time.  Bowling was quite reasonable.  It was $13 for three hours and shoes.  Shane showed a little later on and ended up taking Esther's spot after only 90 minutes.   They added this screen right above the lanes that plays music videos.  

    I bowled horrible.  I think my highest was like a 108.  Anyways, I bowled left handed for the last game and a half.  I was shocked when I picked up two strikes.  I mean, I barely get strikes right handed.  

  • It's time yet again for another weekend recap.

    Friday

    I ate dinner with Mike at Gardena Bowl.  This one waitress knows Esther and I.  When she saw me, she asked where my girlfriend was.   Can you tell we go there a lot?  Hhahah.  Well, after I beat Mike at MvsC2 a few times, he dropped me off and I waited for Esther.   Once she came over, we went to TE for...you guessed it..SPADES!    Wayne had a funny story too.   Ask him if you want to know. 

    Saturday 

    I  picked up Esther and we met up with everyone at Hurry Curry (yes, I know again).  Heidi came with her friend Charlie.   We were really limited with options on what to do since it was raining.  We ended up playing cards at the boba place.  Afterward, we were going to play some pool at House of Billiards but decided not to since it was crowded.  We ended up relocating to Didi Reese for some sweets.    

    Sunday

    I visited my grandfather (my mom's side) and he didn't look so good.  Apparently he's not eating and hasn't done so in a week.   He looks thinner which is not good since he was really thin to begin with.   I'm not sure but it just seems like he's given up on life.  The doctor said nothing is wrong and he could go home at any time.   The only thing holding my grandfather back is his decision not to eat.    Man, I don't know what's going through his head.   Anyways,  I went home afterwards and just chilled for a few hours.  Around 5, it was time to go to my aunt's house for a family dinner.  Relatives from Idaho came down to visit my grandfather (my father's side) since he was now out of the hospital.  It was nice.  I ended up watching Lord of the Ring II.   Now, this sucked for a couple reasons.  First, I didn't see the first one.  Secondly, I wasn't able to hear everything since everyone was talking.  Overall, the movie was good.   Here's a few pictures that were taken. (the pictures don't work anymore so I removed them from this post).

    I left later to meet up with Mike, Hilo, Erwin and Chris at PV bowl.  We were going to play some games since it was quartermania but it was packed.  We ended up heading over to the Evan's.  

Recent Comments

Categories